top of page

Another Science Experiment...

As I look out the window, there's not much sign of Spring. With mountains of snow and whirling white stuff in the air, it's hard to imagine colors that are not white, grey and everything in between. But since the soaps I'm making now won't be ready until April, I have to think color. Easter is coming, and Spring is inevidable... at least I think so.

Sometimes the designs that I have so perfectly planned out in my head actually come to life, and sometimes (many times) they don't. Herein lies the 'Science Experiement' title. Making soap is not difficult. However when you start combining different scents, colors, techniques, temperature changes, additives... well, you just never know what you have until 24 hours later when you finally cut that first bar of soap. The kids ask me, "Mom, if you don't like it, why did you make it like that?" That's a fair question with a not-so-simple answer. If not for my character flaw of being a bit of a perfectionist, no one would be the wiser and my soap - if it cleanses and provides bubbles - already meets the minimum requirements.

Problem is, I'm not about the minimum requirements. Not even close.

Funny thing is that if soapmaking was a simple math equation where the results were always the same, I may not be interested at all. What. is. wrong. with. me?

All that to say, I'm not impressed with my latest creation. My essential oils changed the colors I had planned for this design (yes I should have known that) and I had to wing it. It's still ok, just not what I wanted. I also poured my soap a bit too thin which didn't work for the technique I was using.

Here it is. Not sure what I should call it. Any suggestions?

DSC_3350.JPG

- Marcy


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page