top of page

Shopping

Shopping. Except I doubt your thinking what I'm thinking.

While most of my soap ingredients are bought online, my trip to the local hardware store to fetch a new container of lye crystals is my most favorite purchase of them all. It's funny actually.

You see, I've shopped for lye enough times to know what to expect at the cash: I put the lye on the counter; Cashier looks at item; Cashier looks at me (I can almost see them thinking); and without any consideration as to whether they should be blurting out what usually remains their inside voice they question, "what do you do with that?" I figure some have absolutely no idea and simply have to ask. Others, I have a feeling, stare at me wondering if my lady-like appearance is hiding an illegal substance operation or plans to destroy evidence from some sort of wild rampage gone wrong the night before. Maybe they think I'm an unlikely plumber? I'm not sure, but whaterver the reason they have. to. ask.

I say, "I'm making soap".

More thinking.

Todays response was, "I didn't think anyone did that anymore"?

Sometimes, I get a, "Really?", or maybe, "Cool". Other times I get a hundred and one questions on the entire process. All the while, I leave the store with them staring at me as if I had just guessed the name of their first born.

I just have to grin, wishing I had a piece of soap to offer as proof.

- Marcy


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page